slug.com slug.com

7 1

Struggling with career Choice

I’m currently trying to decide how to gamble my time away. If any of you have been in a similar situation, perhaps you can help.
I’m a 21-year-old cook. 2 years ago, when I was finishing up my first (& last) year at Purdue, I decided that I liked culinary arts waaaaay more than computer science. Following that, I cooked for a couple of years during which I discovered the IDW. And the IDW showed me how interesting Psychology and Philosophy can be. Now, I find myself reading psychology-related books (Coddling of the American Mind, Waking Up, Thinking Fast and Slow, Consciousness Explained, etc) for fun. And I’m annotating them... for some reason. No one told me to do that.
At this point, so many options have entered my head that it’s hard to keep track. I can continue to cook while taking online psychology classes. I can switch to serving while I take online classes. I can cook, save up money, and move to Ohio where I can pay in-state tuition and take traditional classes. Or hell, I can just continue to do exactly what I’m doing: cook while learning about psychology in my spare time and just make something of that I guess. Idk. All I know is, in my opinion, Sam Harris is living the life. Writing, weekly podcasts with other influential intellectuals, and occasionally being invited onto other podcasts and tv shows. I mean... come on. That’s almost exactly what I want to do so how do I get to do that?
How do you all decide what career to take when you love two or three things at once (or go back-and-forth between loving those things)?

BFrydell 5 Mar 27

Be part of the movement!

Welcome to the community for those who value free speech, evidence and civil discourse.

Create your free account

7 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.